Fort Myers First Time DUI Lawyer
Florida's DUI and Administration Penalties
In the state of Florida and across the nation it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.08% or greater. For commercial drivers the threshold is set at 0.04% and even lower for underage drivers at just 0.02%, which means an underage driver can be arrested and convicted of DUI after just one alcoholic drink.
Under DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances) Section 316.193, F.S., DUI is a criminal offense that is proved by impairment of one's normal faculties or the blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08% or more. The penalties for a DUI conviction are the same, regardless of how the prosecution proves the offense was committed.
Work with our Fort Myers first time DUI lawyer today if you have been charged for your first DUI! Call us at (800) 614-5138.
Penalties for a First DUI Offense
Under Schedule s. 316.193(2)(a)-(b), F.S., the penalties for a first DUI conviction in the state of Florida are as follows:
- Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000.
- 180 days to 1 year driver's license revocation effective the date of conviction.
- If the blood alcohol level was 0.15% or higher, or if there was a minor in the vehicle, the fines are from $1,000 to $2,000.
- 50 hours of mandatory community service or an additional $10 per an hour fine for each hour of community service required.
- On a first conviction, probation and incarceration cannot exceed 12 months.
Imprisonment with a first conviction is at the court's discretion; however, sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse program with credit going towards imprisonment.
With a first conviction, imprisonment is not to exceed 6 months unless the driver had a BAL of 0.15% or higher, or if there was a minor in the vehicle, imprisonment cannot exceed nine months.
In cases where the driver's family does have another vehicle for transportation, the driver's vehicle can be impounded for 10 days upon a first conviction, and impoundment or vehicle immobilization cannot be concurrent with incarceration.
In order for someone that has been arrested for DUI to be released, they must no longer be under the influence of alcohol, their normal faculties can no longer be impaired, their blood/breath alcohol level must be less than .05%, and eight hours must have elapsed from the time they were arrested.
Ignition Interlock Devices
Under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes, certain DUI offenders are required to install an ignition interlock device. With a first conviction, a person will be required to install an ignition interlock device if the court orders it. If the driver had a BAL of 0.15% or above, or if there was a minor in their vehicle, they will be required to install an IID for a period of at least 6 months.
The Florida ignition interlock program affects those that have been arrested for DUI and upon eligibility for reinstatement of either a permanent or a restricted driver's license. The IID is also a requirement for those that apply for a restricted driver's license for work or business purposes.
Currently, the costs associated with an ignition interlock device include:
- $12 Interlock fee
- A $75 installation fee
- A $72.50 monthly monitoring and calibration fee
- A $100 refundable deposit, or a $5 monthly insurance charge
If you or someone you love has been arrested for DUI in the Fort Myers area, you are urged to contact an attorney from Calvo & Calvo, Attorneys at Law right away. There are many negative consequences upon a conviction, not to mention the sky high insurance rate hikes that are extremely costly.
Our firm has had incredible success with DUI cases and in many cases we can get our client's charges drastically reduced or dropped entirely depending on the facts surrounding the case. Don't give up the fight as many people do. Hiring our firm may make all the difference in the outcome of your case and we are here to fight for your license and to keep your criminal record clean.
Schedule a case evaluation with our Fort Myers first time DUI attorney today.
5-Star Reviews From Our Clients
"Jose made me feel confident from our first conversation and throughout the legal process that everything would be OK. He is a calming presence and walks the walk of what you will discuss and work on with him. Very highly recommended."Anonymous
"Mr. Calvo was very knowledgeable and professional. He directed me through a very complicated situation with ease and confidence. I would definitely recommend him to any of my friends."Ron K.
"Mr. Calvo was a huge help with a situation I got into while I was on vacation a couple years ago. He fought tooth and nail for me and made sure everything was ok, all while we were thousands of miles apart. I can't thank him enough!"Kerri