DUI arrests put you at risk of losing your driver's license. Even if you didn't cause property damage or bodily injury, your license could be suspended for six months to a maximum of one year. For a second DUI conviction within the last five years, your license will be revoked for a minimum of five years.
License Suspension & Administrative Hearings in FL
When you are arrested for DUI in Florida, your driver's license is immediately confiscated by the police and suspended. You are then given a citation to drive to and from work or school for the following 10 days. If you wish to drive beyond those 10 days, you will need to obtain a temporary permit. In order to do so, you must file for an administrative review hearing.
You only have 10 days to apply for the administrative hearing after your license is suspended. If you fail to apply for the administrative hearing within the 10-day time frame, then you will lose your right to contest your driver's license suspension. The way it works is that, if you blew over .08%, you will get an automatic six-month license suspension.
The average person may not be aware of this small window, and failure to request an administrative hearing in time will result in the inability to drive for at least the next six months. Was your license just suspended? Now is the critical time to hire a lawyer! Your attorney will be able to defend you at your administrative hearing and fight for your right to drive.
Lawyer for Driver's License Suspension in Florida
At Calvo & Calvo, Attorneys at Law, we can build a case for the best defense given your circumstances. We understand how difficult life would be if you lost your license. In some cases, it may be possible to get your driver's license reinstated for hardship purposes, meaning that you would only be allowed to drive to and from work. You would have to complete a DUI program within 90 days of receiving your hardship license, and you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for up to two years or more.
Once your license is reinstated, you will be required to pass an examination, pay the administrative fee, the reinstatement fee, and any license fee that may be required. Furthermore, you will be required to show proof of liability insurance from the date of the arrest and proof of current liability coverage.
DUI Lawyer in Fort Myers & Cape Coral
If you have been arrested for DUI, then you should hire an attorney immediately. We can act fast to schedule your administrative hearing within the ten days of your arrest. We will pursue an extended driving permit which should allow you to drive for another 30 to 45 days pending your hearing.
A successful administrative hearing should result in you getting your license back. If you lose at your hearing, then we can work to have your license reinstated for hardship purposes, which can allow you to drive to and from work so that you don't run the risk of losing your ability to earn a living, as well.
Start taking action to retain your driving privileges. Contact a Fort Myers criminal attorney today!
5-Star Reviews From Our Clients
"Jose made me feel confident from our first conversation and throughout the legal process that everything would be OK. He is a calming presence and walks the walk of what you will discuss and work on with him. Very highly recommended."Anonymous
"Mr. Calvo was very knowledgeable and professional. He directed me through a very complicated situation with ease and confidence. I would definitely recommend him to any of my friends."Ron K.
"Mr. Calvo was a huge help with a situation I got into while I was on vacation a couple years ago. He fought tooth and nail for me and made sure everything was ok, all while we were thousands of miles apart. I can't thank him enough!"Kerri